The smart company ID card that acts as a secure and convenient digital identity

The concept of centrally managed data is commonplace in our private lives: email providers and social media platforms offer an easy way to log in to other service providers, such as online stores, through your existing account. It’s fast – but comes at the cost of data sovereignty. This means that it is not possible to have complete sovereignty over one’s own data. Decentralized identity, on the other hand, offers a convenient and at the same time secure solution, as our expert Dr. Christina Kratsch reveals in this article. How can such concepts be realized in a corporate context? Take the onboarding of new colleagues, for example: traditionally, physical or digital copies of important documents such as IDs, driver’s licenses and references are created. Once submitted to the company, employees usually no longer have any control over what happens to their data or whether it is completely deleted once their employment ends. Conversely, how do companies ensure that all the documents are genuine?

When the company ID card thinks for itself

With a smart company ID card, digital evidence is available in the form of automatically checkable statements, known as verifiable credentials. These provide evidence of, for example, a university degree, professional development, vaccination status or a driver’s license, and can be automatically verified by a digital seal from the issuing office. At the same time, employees can use it to gain access to their personnel records, to the company premises or to maintain a system at a customer’s premises. The principle of selective disclosure means that instead of the entire data set, only the data that is required at any given time is disclosed. This also provides data-saving access to the employee discount at the restaurant next door or anonymous mental health counseling as part of the employee program. When employees leave the company, their access is automatically blocked. This makes offboarding easier for the HR department and ensures that no access is forgotten in the process.

Innovations in identity management ensure authentic data sovereignty

The basis for applications like this smart corporate ID card is an end-to-end strategy for handling digital identities within a company. The technological solutions behind this are constantly evolving. A new way of thinking about identities with verifiable credentials and decentralized identity management is currently emerging. The data of a personal digital identity would then no longer be fragmented and under the sovereignty of large service providers or a company. Instead, users will have control over all documents in their own digital wallet. They can then use it to manage their personal data, certificates, credentials, vaccination records or even company ID cards. This will create new, convenient solutions for handling identity data in the future – in both private and business contexts. Above all, however, the decision as to who gets access to which information, when and how, will shift from the service provider to the users and owners of the data. That is true data sovereignty. In the corporate environment, this also offers great potential for cost reductions and security in conjunction with consistent digitization of important corporate processes.

Identity management with Comma Soft:

  • Trusted advisor in IT/cyber security & innovation projects
  • Pioneers in the field of decentralized identifiers
  • Proven co-creation formats for transformation processes
  • Many years of expertise in identity & access management, cloud & authentication
  • Long-standing customers in the medium-sized business & corporate environments
  • Cross-industry know-how from more than 4,000 projects & 30 years of experience in the industry
  • Advice, development & implementation from a single source

 

From consultation to go-live with Comma Soft at your side:

Would you like to find out more about how you can protect your employees’ data securely and conveniently? Please feel free to contact us:

We would love to hear from you!

Expert

Executive Manager Consulting
PhD in Theoretical Chemistry

Jan is responsible for Identity & Access Management, Cyber Security and Cloud Platforms at Comma Soft. His work focuses on digital identity, IT security, zero trust, and cloud and infrastructure. Central to this is the simple, flexible, and secure use and management of a hybrid or cloud-native identity in an in-house, B2B or B2C context, the IT and IT security strategy, and the design and management of IT and cloud infrastructures.

Jan is responsible for Identity & Access Management, Cyber Security and Cloud Platforms at Comma Soft. His work focuses on digital identity, IT security, zero trust, and cloud and infrastructure. Central to this is the simple, flexible, and secure use and management of a hybrid or cloud-native identity in an in-house, B2B or B2C context, the IT and IT security strategy, and the design and management of IT and cloud infrastructures.

Further Insights

Für weitere spannende Einblicke in unseren Alltag und unsere Projekte besuche uns gerne auf unserer LinkedIn-Seite oder auch bei Kununu:

Der smarte Firmenausweis als sichere und komfortable Digitale Identität

Im Privatleben ist das Konzept zentral verwalteter Daten Gang und Gäbe: E-Mail-Anbieter und Social Media Plattformen bieten über den bestehenden Account ein einfaches Log-in bei weiteren Dienstleistern wie Online-Shops an. Das geht schnell – aber auf Kosten der Datensouveränität. Souveränes Managen der eigenen Daten ist damit nicht möglich. Eine komfortable und zugleich sichere Lösung bietet dagegen Decentralized Identity. Wie lassen sich solche Konzepte im Unternehmenskontext umsetzen? Nehmen wir z. B. das Onboarding neuer Kolleg:innen: Klassischerweise entstehen physische oder digitale Kopien von wichtigen Dokumenten wie Ausweisen, Führerscheinen oder Zeugnissen. Einmal beim Unternehmen eingereicht, haben Mitarbeiter:innen meist keine Kontrolle mehr darüber, was mit ihren Daten passiert oder ob sie nach dem Beschäftigungsende vollständig gelöscht wurden. Und wie stellen Unternehmen umgekehrt sicher, dass all die Dokumente echt sind?

Wenn der Firmenausweis mitdenkt

Mit einem smarten Firmenausweis liegen digitale Nachweise in Form von automatisiert überprüfbaren Aussagen vor, sogenannten Verifiable Credentials. Diese belegen z. B. den Universitätsabschluss, eine Weiterbildung, den Impfstatus oder den Führerschein und sind durch ein digitales Siegel der Ausgabestelle automatisch verifizierbar. Gleichzeitig können Mitarbeiter:innen damit Zugang zu ihren Personalunterlagen, zum Firmengelände oder zur Wartung einer Anlage bei Kunden erhalten. Durch das Prinzip der Selective Disclosure werden statt des kompletten Datensatzes immer nur die Daten preisgegeben, die gerade nötig sind. So werden auch der Angestelltenrabatt im Restaurant nebenan oder die anonyme Beratung zur mentalen Gesundheit im Rahmen des Employee-Programms datensparsam möglich. Verlassen Mitarbeiter:innen das Unternehmen, werden Zugänge automatisch gesperrt. Das erleichtert der Personalabteilung das Offboarding und stellt sicher, dass dabei kein Zugang vergessen wird.

Innovationen im Identitätsmanagement sorgen für echte Datensouveränität

Die Basis für Anwendungen wie diesen smarten Firmenausweis ist eine ganzheitliche Strategie für den Umgang mit digitalen Identitäten im Unternehmen. Die technologischen Konzepte dafür entwickeln sich gerade stetig weiter. Aktuell entsteht mit Verifiable Credentials und dezentralem Identitätsmanagement eine neue Denkweise im Umgang mit Identitäten: Die Daten einer persönlichen digitalen Identität würden dann nicht mehr fragmentiert in der Hoheit großer Dienstleister oder eines Unternehmens liegen. Stattdessen erhalten Nutzer:innen selbst die Kontrolle über alle Dokumente in ihrer eigenen digitalen Wallet. In dieser verwalten sie dann persönliche Angaben, Zertifikate, Zeugnisse, Impfnachweise oder eben auch Firmenausweise. So entstehen in Zukunft neue komfortable Lösungen für den Umgang mit Identitätsdaten – im privaten wie im Business-Kontext. Vor allem aber wird sich die Entscheidung verschieben, wer wann und wie Zugriff auf welche Informationen bekommt: vom Dienstleister zu den Anwender:innen und Besitzer:innen der Daten – das ist echte Datensouveränität. Im Unternehmensumfeld bietet das in Verbindung mit konsequenter Digitalisierung wichtiger Unternehmensprozesse zudem ein hohes Kostenreduktions- und Sicherheitspotenzial.

Identity Management mit Comma Soft:

  • Trusted Advisor in IT-/Cyber-Security- & Innovationsprojekten
  • Pioniere auf dem Gebiet Decentralized Identifiers
  • Erprobte Co-Creation-Formate für Transformationsprozesse
  • Langjährige Expertise in Identity & Access Management, Cloud & Authentifizierung
  • Langjährige Kunden im Mittelstand & Konzern-Umfeld
  • Cross-Industry-Wissen aus über 4.000 Projekten & 30 Jahren Branchenerfahrung
  • Beratung, Entwicklung & Umsetzung aus einer Hand

 

Mit Comma Soft von der Beratung bis zum Go-live:

Wollen Sie mehr darüber erfahren, wie Sie die Daten Ihrer Mitarbeiter:innen sicher und komfortabel schützen können? Sprechen Sie uns gerne an:

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage!

Ansprechpartner

Executive Manager Consulting
Ph. D. Theoretische Chemie
Diplom-Chemiker

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Jan verantwortet bei Comma Soft die Teams Automation & Integration und Identity Management & Protection. Sein Fokus liegt auf den Themen digitale Identität, IT-Security, Zero Trust sowie Cloud und Infrastruktur. Im Zentrum stehen dabei die einfache, flexible und sichere Nutzung und das Management einer hybriden oder Cloud-nativen Identität im unternehmensinternen, B2B- oder B2C-Kontext, IT- und IT-Security-Strategie sowie das Design und Management von IT- und Cloud-Infrastrukturen.

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Jan verantwortet bei Comma Soft die Teams Automation & Integration und Identity Management & Protection. Sein Fokus liegt auf den Themen digitale Identität, IT-Security, Zero Trust sowie Cloud und Infrastruktur. Im Zentrum stehen dabei die einfache, flexible und sichere Nutzung und das Management einer hybriden oder Cloud-nativen Identität im unternehmensinternen, B2B- oder B2C-Kontext, IT- und IT-Security-Strategie sowie das Design und Management von IT- und Cloud-Infrastrukturen.